reinstall advice needed

I have been using Spamsieve for 5+ years. I was amazed when I first installed and highly recommend to others. Over the past nine months Spamsieve’s effectiveness has been degrading. Please note this decline is most likely my fault and due to several issues relating to my usage and not a problem with Spamsieve. I have looked at the log and most of the offending messages have been whitelisted by auto training. Although, my whitelist has 9,170 rules which seems high to me.

To get Spamsieve back in peak performance, I want to change my setup/workflow and feel a reinstall is the best path forward. However, I am wondering how to retain the whitelisting of my previous recipients as well as the best means for dealing with a lot of my messages which are currently processed by Spamsieve as SPAM by me election even thought they may not technically be SPAM.

Since you typically advise against reinstalling I will provide a bit more background. I suspect my problem stems from several issues relating to my usage.

(1) About nine months ago I had hardware problems with my MacPro which resulted in my running AppleMail and Spamsieve on my MacBookPro for a month. This was done without moving the Spamsieve training between the MacPro and MBP. Thus causing a break in my training.

(2) I have been processing a higher percentage of my email from an iPhone or iPad. However, I have not setup a drone and thus started having SPAM get through without training Spamsieve. This is the first change I want to make in my installation.