Encrypting individual records

Hi, I am new to EagleFiler. I have just begun to scan my immense quantity of paper and are just starting to organize my records in EagleFiler. I also just purchased the Fujitsu ScanSnap. So, I should be all set. A quick question regarding records that I’d like to keep private: While I know that encrypting an entire library can be done, is there any reason that I cannot use the Adobe Acrobat password-protect option on each individual pdf that I want secured? When I try this from within EagleFiler, it seems to function fine, in that double-clicking the record leads to a request for the password and then the pdf opens in Acrobat. Also, I can store tags with the file. What is the negative of this method? I would prefer to keep all my files in one library and just password-protect/encrypt those few that need to be hidden, if there is no significant disadvantage here. Thanks in advance for your comments and thanks, Mr. Tsai, for a robust and well-developed product.

I recommend using an encrypted library rather than encrypting individual files. Some of the negatives are:

• EagleFiler (and Spotlight) cannot search the contents of individual encrypted files.
  • Acrobat’s encryption is less secure.
  • With individual encrypted files, the unencrypted data will be saved to disk when the file is created, and you must take care to securely wipe it after encrypting the file. With an encrypted library, unencrypted data never touches the disk.