Using EF to handle copyflow

I’m a freelance writer and I’ve been looking for an app that will ‘file’ for me all the elements that go into a project – a lot of individual docs, notes, emails, web pages and graphics if done conventionally.

How would I best use EF for this? How will EF handle different iterations of the same text doc if saved e.g. by keystroke or drop box i.e. will it update or will I be saving lots of different text files and run in to problems retrieving the latest version?

BTW I am finding the whole saving thing quite difficult. Tried to save some text from a pdf last night and just couldn’t get it into EF at all.

My previous experience of Michael’s work – esp SpamSieve – tells me this is worth persisting with. Not aware of another app that will do this. Yojimbo is great for web pages but can’t handle graphics, for example.

I think EagleFiler should work for that.

I’m not entirely sure what you mean by “drop box” since EagleFiler doesn’t currently have a drop box feature. EagleFiler saves the files in the library as regular files. If you open one of those files (through the Finder or by double-clicking it in EagleFiler), then you are editing the file in the library. When you save it, you are therefore updating the version in EagleFiler. This is the normal way to work with documents. Is that what you want? If you want to save multiple iterations of the same document, then you would be creating new files instead of updating the existing one, and therefore you would need to add each new file to the library.

I’m happy to help you, but you’ll have to tell me more specifically what you tried to do and what didn’t happen as you expected. If you have a PDF file, you can drag it into EagleFiler. Or, you can open the PDF in Preview, select some text, and press Command-% to import just the selected text.

I’m not entirely sure what you mean by “drop box” . . .

Sorry, I meant “drop pad”.