Source Code and Snippets

Hi all, I’m new to EagleFiler although I’ve been following it for quite some time. I’ve been a long-time Yojimbo user but am extremely enthused by the active community around EagleFiler and especially by the active participation of the developer, Michael.

One of the things that I use these organizers for is storing bits of source code that I’ve picked up here and there. It would be extremely cool if EagleFiler supported colorized syntax and/or line numbers.

Thanks for the suggestions. EagleFiler does support colorized syntax for .plist files. Which other languages would be the highest priority for you?

I tried to copy a plist to EagleFiler but I wasn’t able to view the file. I get a “No Selection” in the content pane. Am I doing something wrong?

On the question of the languages, I personally store (in order of frequency) Java, AppleScript, SQL, Python, and Ruby snippets the most. However, I would totally understand if you implemented it according to your own needs or the popularity of different languages.

Would it make sense to use the syntax capabilities of some other program like vim or TextMate to be able to leverage the work done for those platforms?

BTW, I’m completely blown away by your responsiveness!

I don’t know. Could you post a screenshot showing what you did?

Try highlight?
highlight (as used by the Quick Look generator QLColorCode) seems to do a great job at whatever I throw at it. I hadn’t thought about using EagleFiler to store code; what a good idea…

I’ll certainly give that a try—thanks. There are some other possible contenders, though. In any case, I’m looking forward to using EagleFiler to search and browse syntax-highlighted sample code.