Wishlist feature: "synchronizing" mailboxes

I’m a writer who’s been using DevonThink Pro for the past two years. Now, DTP is excellent but has become overly-complicated for my needs, and when I heard about Michael’s EagleFiler I jumped at downloading it. It’s off to a great start and I’ll likely spring for it soon, but there is one thing I really need. I use a separate mailbox for each ongoing project. What I’d like is a mail import option that only grabs messages dated after the last import (a sort of “sync” function). Unless I’m missing something, all I can do now is import the entire mailbox from time to time to keep the archive up to date.

Devon is working on a script to do precisely this, but hasn’t yet delivered. I’m hoping that EagleFiler’s structure might make this a relatively straightforward feature to implement (though I’m neither a programmer nor a competent scripter).

Anyone who’s worked in the Windows world has probably heard of or worked with Zoot, and its mailbox sync ability was one if its best-loved features.

Just a suggestion. Thanks for another great app, Michael.

Eric

PS- I’m also trying out MailSteward. If I use EagleFiler to archive my mail, does that make MS redundant? I’d be interested in any feedback on whether I’d even need MS (which appears to be a good product, too).

Why not simply delete the messages from Mail after you import them into EagleFiler? The synchronization problem goes away if stop keeping duplicate copies of the messages.

Well, one of the issues is: how does EagleFiler know which “last import date” you mean?

Yes, I don’t think you’d need MailSteward if you’re using EagleFiler.

I could do so, yes. But it adds another step to my workflow which is already confusing. It may sound trivial, but the thought of erroneously deleting the wrong emails-- a real possibility in my case<g>– is scary. I’ll look at it, though.

Well, one of the issues is: how does EagleFiler know which “last import date” you mean?