Gmail (IMAP) + mail.app (LION) = Spam Folder Confusion

Hello-

I’m new to SpamSieve (this is my first full day with it), so if this is something well known, I apologize. I searched all over this forum but couldn’t find a post that addressed this issue specifically.

So this is a post to help anyone who is in a similar situation as I was. It took me awhile to figure out what my problem was (haha) but once I did I was able to fix it. Here’s the story:

I have multiple IMAP email accounts (most are Gmail, however, some aren’t) and I use mail.app in Lion. When using SpamSieve, one must disable the apple junk mail filter, which in turn “enables,” so to speak, the Gmail spam folders in each apple mailbox (this isn’t actually the case, spam is ALWAYS enabled in Gmail and hence the folders are always there… it’s just that with the Apple junk mail filter on you don’t see the Gmail spam folders or interact with them in any way).

This is all well and good except that now, whenever Google deemed something as spammy, it would put the message into its own spam folder (the ones that I mentioned above). SpamSieve doesn’t seem to do anything with these. All I know is that I was suddenly getting messages in these deep dark folders regularly and then had to navigate to them manually to train SpamSieve.

The problem was that I was now back to where I was before SpamSieve: manually dealing with spam. This prompted me to create a SmartMailbox to collect all of the messages in the Gmail spam folders so I could deal with them all at once without having to navigate to each individual folder, but this was still very annoying. I wanted things automated.