PDA

View Full Version : how much do you have to train it before it works on its own?



bhelms
02-22-2007, 12:24 PM
I installed this morning. Have been training it with every message that comes in. Probably close to 200 messages. How long before it operates automatically?

Michael Tsai
02-22-2007, 01:13 PM
Have been training it with every message that comes in.


That’s not necessary. You should do an initial training (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/using-spamsieve-with-yo) with messages that you have on hand, and thereafter only train it with messages that are not classified correctly (i.e. spam messages that end up in the inbox or good messages that end up in the Spam mailbox).



How long before it operates automatically?

It will operate automatically from the very beginning. If, after training it with the 200 messages, it doesn’t start catching some of the spam, then it isn’t setup properly (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/why-is-spamsieve-not-ca).

Michael Tsai
02-22-2007, 04:11 PM
The problem was that he was using an IMAP mail account but had created the SpamSieve rule as POP.

skearney
03-18-2007, 01:31 PM
I installed it Friday night and didn't have my initial corpus percentage right. I was getting zero filtering. I just reset the corpus per the advice on this forum and retrained with 126 onhand messages that are exactly 35%good/65%spam. I don't have more than 82 spam msgs on hand so that's all I used. Do I now just wait and see?

skearney
03-18-2007, 01:33 PM
As I watch mail coming in and not being filtered, I correct SpamSieve. Do I have to keep the 65/35% balanced in the corpus as I correct? Ack! I'm not getting how to do this AND nothing is filtering.

Michael Tsai
03-18-2007, 02:07 PM
As I watch mail coming in and not being filtered, I correct SpamSieve. Do I have to keep the 65/35% balanced in the corpus as I correct?


No, the ratio is just for the initial training. After that, SpamSieve will manage it automatically. Just make sure that you correct all the mistakes.



Ack! I'm not getting how to do this AND nothing is filtering.

Then probably something isn’t setup properly in your mail program. Please check for common setup problems (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/why-is-spamsieve-not-ca) or report some information about your setup (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/what-information-should) that I could use to diagnose the problem.

skearney
03-18-2007, 03:24 PM
No, the ratio is just for the initial training. After that, SpamSieve will manage it automatically. Just make sure that you correct all the mistakes.



Then probably something isn’t setup properly in your mail program. Please check for common setup problems (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/why-is-spamsieve-not-ca) or report some information about your setup (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/what-information-should) that I could use to diagnose the problem.
I am emailing my log file...maybe you'll see something I don't. Thanks

Michael Tsai
03-19-2007, 10:17 AM
I am emailing my log file...maybe you'll see something I don't. Thanks

The problem was that the “If” part of the SpamSieve rule in Apple Mail (http://c-command.com/spamsieve/manual-ah/installing) said “Sender is in my Previous Recipients” instead of “Every Message.”