When to Transfer to Laptop

At what point do I install spamsieve on my laptop after using it on my desktop and transfer the file that contains my training? Where exactly is this file?

You can transfer it whenever you want. The instructions are on this page. Also, please see the note about using SpamSieve on multiple Macs.

Regarding the link you sent me, which computer do I turn auto training off on? I assume it is the one that I transferred the data to not the one I started training with.

Also, I guess I would transfer the file again after sometime because I would still be correcting mistakes.

Thank you for the excellent support!!!

You can choose one of the following:

1. Make sure that only one copy of SpamSieve is running (for a given mail account) at a time. If a message is misclassified, train SpamSieve on the Mac that misclassified it.
  2. Turn off auto-training for all copies of SpamSieve.
  3. Install SpamSieve on only one Mac, as a drone.

Yes, I would transfer the files again once you’ve gotten the accuracy built up on your main Mac.

If I choose option 1. Are you saying I can’t have mail open on 2 computers at the same time? Or am I able to have it open and running spamsieve but not to do any training on the mac that doesn’t have the main database ( I believe you call it the coprus??)?

From your instructions above you are telling me I can correct a misclassification on either computer as long as the other doesn’t have spamsieve running. If that is the case, wouldn’t the “corpus” not be current on the computer where the change wasn’t made? Therefore, I would think the set up would be to keep my iMac which has spamsieve installed now as the main computer that I make all the corrections on. Then every so often I sync the corpus on the laptop to keep it current.

Thoughts???